

## **Pennsylvania - Delaware Chapter**

# Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired

www.penn-delaer.org

## Penn-Del AER General Meeting Minutes DRAFT

Date: Thursday, April 25, 2024 Time: 11:30am

Location: in person

#### Welcome

Maria Lepore-Stevens, President

#### **Penn-Del AER Officers**

Past President - Holly Russell President - Maria Lepore-Stevens President-Elect - Greg Lazur Secretary - Ashley Popojas Treasurer - Vince McVeigh

## **Directors-at-Large**

Nancy Ashley
Mary Daubenspeck
Brenda Egan
Greg Gerhart
Becky Knaub
Yomi Koya
Matt Love (Student Representative)
Mary Nelle McLennan

Jamie Maffit
Eva Press
Mark Richert
Lachelle Smith
Mark Steciw
Erin Weaver
Tracy Whitehead
Doug Williams

#### **Attendance and Minutes**

Approved meeting minutes from April 2023

#### **Treasurer's Report**

Balance of \$64,087.38 as of 4/8/24

#### **Old Business**

 Penn-Del AER is looking for volunteers. We would like your help! Members can join a committee without being on the Penn-Del AER Board. Reach out to a Board Member to learn more.

#### **New Business**

- Encourage non-members to join!
- Wear your Penn-Del AER logo gear on Friday!
- Discussion of current research projects in the field (Kerry Lueders, Dr. Tessa McCarthy, Maria Lepore-Stevens)

## **Committee Updates**

Awards Committee

Congratulations to this year's awardees, including:

- Richard L. Welsh Service Award: Dr. Rebecca L. Renshaw
- Elinor Long Educator of the Year Award: Amanda Whelan
- Student Scholarship Recipients: Matthew Love and Carolyn Pijanowski

Bylaws and Structure Committee: No bylaws changes

Communications Committee: Website Updates, MailChimp eblasts, Social Media Posts, Dropbox Management, Shift from Survey Monkey to Google Forms, Document Templates

Legislation Committee: Maryland law about document accessibility, Development of new Penn-Del AER award for politicians supporting the field, ACVREP's OT Certification, Support for the Cogswell-Macy Act, Support for Teddie-Joy's Law

Membership Committee: 186 active members, Friday is Penn-Del spirit day!

Memorial Committee: Honored 4 members of our field who have passed away

#### Nominations Committee:

- Thank you to the Board members whose terms have come to an end: Brenda Egan, Oluyomi Koya, Mary Nelle McLennan, Erin Weaver, Tracy Whitehead
- Vacancies/ nominees
  - Directors-at-Large: Deb Miller (Western), Ashley Spinden (Delaware), Shawn Musgrove (Delaware)
  - Ashley Popojas (Secretary, Western)
  - Vince McVeigh (Treasurer, Eastern)

#### Conference Planning Committee:

- Three outstanding general session speakers
- Thirty-two concurrent sessions with three roundtable sessions
- Awards ceremony and reception
- Silent Auction
- Exhibitors
- Social and networking events

#### Leadership:

- 2019 Initial Leadership Event was held in-person
- 2020 and 2021 Six virtual webinars replaced in-person events due to the pandemic
- 2024 Partnership with the Janet Barlow Initiative

### **Membership Drawing Winners**

- Free Membership: Kate Morris
- 2025 Penn-Del AER Conference Registration: John Hofmeister and Kris Ohlinger
- \$50 Gift Card for Recruitment Lachelle Smith
- 2024 International Conference Registration: John Hofmeister

Call to Adjourn – 11:53 PM

Respectfully Submitted, Ashley Popojas Penn-Del AER Secretary