Recipients of the Elinor Long, Educator of the Year (ELEY) Award

2014    John Hannum, O&M Specialist

2013    Tracy Whitehead, Intermediate Unit 17

2012    Harry K. Lasky, posthumously, Kutztown University

2010    Dael Cohen, Overbrook School for the Blind

2009    Penni Telleck, Independent Consultant

2008    Katherine Brittian, Westmoreland Intermediate Unit #7

2007    Chris Ament, Susquehanna Association for the Blind

2006    Jennifer Concannon, Western Pennsylvania School for Blind Children

2004    Kathleen Cleaver, Saint Lucy Day School for Children with Visual Impairments

2003    Dr. Bernadette Kappen, Overbrook School for the Blind

2002    Robin Adler, Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit #13

2000    Tori Bell, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1999    Earlene Colella, Appalachia Intermediate Unit #8

1998    Dr. Ralph Peabody, Professor Emeritus, University of Pittsburgh

1997    Mark Steciw, Eastern Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1997    Debby Holzapfel, Western Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1997    Frank Irzyk, Central Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1996    Rita Robertson, Norristown Area School District

1995    Lynn Vuocolo, Allegheny Intermediate Unit #3

1994    Robert Ashbridge, Overbrook School for the Blind

1993    Ben Williams, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit #23

1992    Sister M. Margaret Fleming, IHM, St. Lucy Day School for Children with Visual Impairments

1991    Harold Hoff, Chester County Intermediate Unit #24

1990    Jeanne Gardier, Northeastern Immediate Unit #19

1989    Susan Millaway, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit #23

1988    Jeanne Leiper, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1987    Adrienne Koller, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1986    Carolyn Hoover, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1985    Ridgeway Clark, Allegheny Intermediate Unit #3

1984    Patricia Bowles, Berks County Intermediate Unit #14

The Penn-Del AER Scholarship was designed to reward one outstanding university student with a merit scholarship. Applicants need to be AER members, enrolled in a full or part-time program, and majoring in the following certification areas: Low Vision Therapist, Orientation and Mobility Specialist, Rehabilitation Counseling, Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments, or Vision Rehabilitation Therapist, as well as live or work within Pennsylvania or Delaware (but need not be enrolled within a program in PA or DE).

Elinor Long Award

The Elinor Long Educator of the Year Award (ELEY) was established to recognize a professional (an educator, administrator, university faculty, or medical personnel from Pennsylvania or Delaware) who has demonstrated outstanding contributions and performance in the field.

NOTE: The PDF form below must be completed using Adobe Reader or Acrobat. The free Adobe Reader software can be found at To complete this form and save, follow these steps:

• Right-click on the link to the form and choose the option to save the file to an appropriate folder on your computer.

• Locate the downloaded PDF file and open it using your Adobe program.

• Enter your information, and save the file with a new name.

Download both the award description and award application form:

Description here

Application form here

2016 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Doug Williams

Doug is an Educational Consultant with Vision specialization in the Harrisburg Office of the Pennsylvania Training and Technical Assistance Network (PaTTAN). He has worked as an Orientation and Mobility Specialist with the Nevil Institute in Philadelphia, (later ASB), and at the Lincoln Intermediate Unit #12 in south central Pennsylvania as an O&M Specialist.

2015 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Jorene Proper

Jorene Proper is a Teacher of the Visually Impaired and Physical Therapist. She is currently working for the Central Intermediate Unit 10.

2017 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Fabiana Perla

Department Chair, Director of Orientation and Mobility Program; Associate Professor, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies, Salus University

2018 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Jan Kautz

Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments

Lancaster Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13

Lancaster, Pennsylvania